Lourdes Garcia-Navarro http://news.stlpublicradio.org en Emicida: 'People Sample What Is Nearest To Them' http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/emicida-people-sample-what-nearest-them <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QdvYAjQYdIs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YvQLw8XRBKQ</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:25:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 35292 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Emicida: 'People Sample What Is Nearest To Them' Short On Dollars, Venezuela Tries To Halt Black-Market Trading http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/short-dollars-venezuela-tries-halt-black-market-trading The Venezuelan capital, Caracas, can be one of the most expensive cities in the world — or one of the cheapest. It all depends on how you exchange your dollars.<p>At a fast food restaurant in the city recently, a pretty tasty plate of chicken and rice cost me 160 bolivars. At the official exchange rate set by the government, that works out to a little more than $25; at the black market rate, it's just $2.<p>Needless to say, most anyone who can change money on the black market in Venezuela does so.<p>As one person told me: "For people like me [who are] paid in dollars ... Mon, 24 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 34695 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Short On Dollars, Venezuela Tries To Halt Black-Market Trading World Cup Woes Loom For One Brazilian City http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/world-cup-woes-loom-one-brazilian-city Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>The World Cup, soccer's biggest tournament, is just a few months off. It's a massive undertaking for the host country, Brazil, with huge construction projects attached. One of the 12 host cities, the city of Cuiaba, launched a fantastically ambitious infrastructure plan. It features over 30 projects. But it's been plagued by delays and lots of doubts about whether things will be ready. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 34158 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org From Recife, Brazil, 3 Rhythms Get The Carnival Party Started http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/recife-3-rhythms-get-carnival-party-started <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dOjtXpl77_E</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 21:02:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 34082 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org From Recife, Brazil, 3 Rhythms Get The Carnival Party Started U.S. Team Trains In Brazil To Prepare For World Cup http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/us-team-trains-brazil-prepare-world-cup The U.S. World Cup soccer team is in Brazil for 12 days of training and acclimation. The team drew a challenging schedule for the competition and will be playing in the northern cities of Natal and Recife as well as the Amazonian city of Manaus. Sat, 25 Jan 2014 14:46:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 33252 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Brazil's Social Media Boom Sparks Calls For New Privacy Laws http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/brazils-social-media-boom-sparks-calls-new-privacy-laws The use of social media is exploding in Brazil. Wed, 01 Jan 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 32695 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Brazil's Social Media Boom Sparks Calls For New Privacy Laws Ex-Brazilian President Kubitschek Was Murdered, Commission Says http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/ex-brazilian-president-kubitschek-was-murdered-commission-says Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>A probe into the death of one of Brazil's most celebrated presidents has determined he was murdered. It was thought that the former leader died in a 1976 car crash but an investigation has found he was assassinated by the military junta that once ruled the country. Tue, 10 Dec 2013 21:29:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 32131 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org What's For Dinner? Try Brazilian http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/whats-dinner-try-brazilian When you think of the world's great cuisines, Brazilian food doesn't spring to mind. But that is about to change.<p>Outside Brazil, the South American nation is most famous for its barbecue, or <em>churrascaria</em>. But inside the country, a new movement celebrating regional foods is booming. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 21:01:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 31983 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org What's For Dinner? Try Brazilian Swarming Thieves Wreak Havoc On Famed Rio Beaches http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/swarming-thieves-wreak-havoc-famed-rio-beaches Amanda Maia was visiting Rio de Janeiro for the weekend earlier this month with her mother. It was a sunny day and so they went to Ipanema beach to catch some rays. She says she noticed a few groups of kids.<p>"There were lots of gangs, about 10, 15 children each; they were about 10 or 12 years old," Maia recalls.<p>At first, she says, they were just roaming the streets, checking people out. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 15:40:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 31776 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Swarming Thieves Wreak Havoc On Famed Rio Beaches Brazil's Restrictions On Abortion May Get More Restrictive http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/brazils-restrictions-abortion-may-get-more-restrictive The doctor's office is clean and white and comfortingly bland in an upscale neighborhood of Sao Paulo. We were given the address by a health professional who told us one of the doctors here gives safe abortions in a country where they are illegal.<p>The doctor agrees to speak on condition of anonymity after we prove we are not there to entrap him. He does not admit on tape that he terminates unwanted pregnancies. But he says openly he favors legalizing abortions.<p>"Most women who want an abortion in Brazil can't afford to come to a doctor," he says. Mon, 28 Oct 2013 19:50:00 +0000 Lourdes Garcia-Navarro 30990 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Brazil's Restrictions On Abortion May Get More Restrictive