Marilyn Geewax http://news.stlpublicradio.org en On-The-Job Deaths Spiking As Oil Drilling Quickly Expands http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/job-deaths-spiking-oil-drilling-quickly-expands Blue-collar workers, hit hard by automation and factory offshoring, have been struggling to find high-paying jobs.<p>One industry does offer opportunity: As baby boomers retire and drilling increases, oil and gas companies are hiring. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 21:01:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 32611 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org On-The-Job Deaths Spiking As Oil Drilling Quickly Expands As Back-To-School Shopping Begins, Consumers May Turn Frugal http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/back-school-shopping-begins-consumers-may-turn-frugal As August begins, retailers are stepping up sales promotions to attract back-to-school shoppers. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 07:02:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 28711 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org As Back-To-School Shopping Begins, Consumers May Turn Frugal If Supplies Of Oil Are Up, Why Is Gas Still Pricey? http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/if-supplies-oil-are-why-gas-still-pricey Supplies of oil have been surging this year, and U.S. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 07:02:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 27569 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org If Supplies Of Oil Are Up, Why Is Gas Still Pricey? What's Under Youngstown May Help What's On Top http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/whats-under-youngstown-may-help-whats-top A century ago, when fiery steel mills were roaring to life in Youngstown, Ohio, builders were racing to put up homes, storefronts, barbershops and more.<p>Today, many of those buildings sit empty and rotting. With the mills mostly gone and the population down 60 percent from 1960, to just 67,000, the city needs millions of dollars to tear down roughly 4,000 vacant structures.<p>This year, they may get help. It's possible that what's under the city could be converted into cash to help clear away what's on top. Wed, 29 May 2013 19:21:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 26858 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org What's Under Youngstown May Help What's On Top Economists See (OK-ish) Growth In 2013 http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/economists-see-ok-ish-growth-2013 Suddenly, the new year is looking a bit brighter — at least in the eyes of most economists and investors.<p>On Day 1 of 2013, Congress voted to veer away from the "fiscal cliff" by <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/01/01/168400575/ball-in-boehners-court-after-senate-approves-fiscal-cliff-deal">passing a package of provisions</a> that avoided broad tax hikes and big spending cuts. Wed, 02 Jan 2013 18:30:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 7937 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Economists See (OK-ish) Growth In 2013 The 2012 Economy Brought Glad Tidings To Many http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/2012-economy-brought-glad-tidings-many After years of recession and slow recovery, maybe you didn't notice. But it turns out, 2012 was a fairly good year for the U.S. economy.<p>The Standard & Poor's 500-stock index has risen nearly 14 percent this year<strong> </strong>and the unemployment rate has fallen to 7.7 percent, the lowest point in four years. Inflation and interest rates have stayed low, allowing families to cut their debt loads.<p>"Consumers are feeling better now," said Nariman Behravesh, chief economist for IHS Global Insight, a forecasting firm. Mon, 24 Dec 2012 17:07:00 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 7659 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org The 2012 Economy Brought Glad Tidings To Many Pray For Rain: Food Prices Heading Higher http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/food-prices-heading-higher-rain-remains-scarce A <a href="http://www.npr.org/2012/07/18/156989764/interactive-mapping-the-u-s-drought">fierce drought</a> has been scorching crops this summer, but it's still too soon to know exactly how much of a hole it will burn in your wallet.<p>The U.S. Department of Agriculture has just released its <a href="http://ers.usda.gov/data-products/food-price-outlook/summary-findings.aspx">latest forecast</a> for retail food prices. Wed, 25 Jul 2012 21:02:18 +0000 Marilyn Geewax 4184 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Pray For Rain: Food Prices Heading Higher