Tom Moon http://news.stlpublicradio.org en Album Review: 'Morning Phase' http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/album-review-morning-phase Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>The singer and songwriter Beck is considered one of the most innovative artists of his generation. This week, he released "Morning Phase," his first new album in six years. Critic Tom Moon says the new record returns back to the brooding pop of 2002's "Sea Change," which many consider his best work.<p>TOM MOON: We hear it constantly. Everything in this on-demand culture seems to be moving fast and getting faster. Here's an exception: The new songs from noted contrarian Beck. They're slow. Deliciously, magnificently slow. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Tom Moon 33985 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Album Review: 'Sun Structures,' By Temples http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/album-review-sun-structures-temples Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Finally this hour, a new perspective on the enduring influence of The Beatles. It comes from another four-piece British rock band called Temples. The group is from the town of Kettering. Critics have been raving about them since last summer. Their debut album, "Sun Structures," has now been released here in the U.S. And hearing it might whisk you away to 1960s Liverpool. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 22:24:00 +0000 Tom Moon 33672 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Pop's Resident Provocateur Fizzles On 'ARTPOP' http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/pops-resident-provocateur-fizzles-artpop <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nP3ctBs3510</p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 20:14:00 +0000 Tom Moon 31350 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Pop's Resident Provocateur Fizzles On 'ARTPOP' Tom Odell: A Polarizing New Voice Shows Promise http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/tom-odell-polarizing-new-voice-shows-promise <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rgHYP0dD_4</p> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 20:33:00 +0000 Tom Moon 29974 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Tom Odell: A Polarizing New Voice Shows Promise Pat Metheny And John Zorn: A Vivid Sound World http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/pat-metheny-and-john-zorn-vivid-sound-world Guitarist <a href="http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CCwQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.npr.org%2Fartists%2F15124280%2Fpat-metheny&ei=-tebUbSCINf-4APLkICAAQ&usg=AFQjCNHXjWctRNt3bG2V1msmN_686O3S0w&sig2=PZZXJTdrbtVPfD-eaYgRRw&bvm=bv.46751780,d.dmg" target="_blank">Pat Metheny</a> is revered for his bright, accessible modern jazz. Saxophonist and composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15510102/john-zorn">John Zorn</a> is associated with much knottier, often dissonant experiments. Metheny's new <em>Tap: John Zorn's Book of Angels, Vol. Tue, 21 May 2013 20:55:00 +0000 Tom Moon 26605 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Pat Metheny And John Zorn: A Vivid Sound World Dawes' Story Gets A Fine New Chapter http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/dawes-story-gets-fine-new-chapter <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH8Jjz6PRYk</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2013 20:49:00 +0000 Tom Moon 25675 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Dawes' Story Gets A Fine New Chapter Atoms For Peace: Thom Yorke's Electronic Shadow-World http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/atoms-peace-thom-yorkes-electronic-shadow-world When singer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15182392/thom-yorke">Thom Yorke</a> stepped away from his influential rock band <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15152697/radiohead">Radiohead</a> in 2006 to release <em>The Eraser</em>, many thought the quirky electronic project was a one-off. Not so, it turns out. Yorke and producer Nigel Godrich called on rock-star friends for a tour, and since then, the group has convened occasionally in the studio. Thu, 28 Feb 2013 23:30:00 +0000 Tom Moon 9763 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Atoms For Peace: Thom Yorke's Electronic Shadow-World Jim James: On A Spiritual Quest In The Digital Age http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/jim-james-spiritual-quest-digital-age <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zsvTfaAAVBg</p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 21:20:00 +0000 Tom Moon 9274 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Jim James: On A Spiritual Quest In The Digital Age A 1969 Bootleg Unearths Miles Davis' 'Lost' Quintet http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/1969-bootleg-unearths-miles-davis-lost-quintet After a slew of multidisc sets devoted to key points in the career of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15368370/miles-davis" target="_blank">Miles Davis</a>, you'd think Columbia Records would have unearthed every speck of consequential music by now. But not quite.<p>This week, Columbia brings out <em>Live in Europe 1969: The Bootleg Series Vol. Wed, 30 Jan 2013 20:27:00 +0000 Tom Moon 8833 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org A 1969 Bootleg Unearths Miles Davis' 'Lost' Quintet Bruno Mars Goes Anyplace And Everyplace On 'Jukebox' http://news.stlpublicradio.org/post/bruno-mars-goes-anyplace-and-everyplace-jukebox <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-fA-gBCkj0</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 20:13:00 +0000 Tom Moon 7259 at http://news.stlpublicradio.org Bruno Mars Goes Anyplace And Everyplace On 'Jukebox'