Decision 2012 Post-Election Special | St. Louis Public Radio

Decision 2012 Post-Election Special

Nov 7, 2012

The election is over and despite some predictions that the results would take a considerable amount of time to trickle in and may even be unknown for a few days, that was not the case.

Democratic U.S. Senator Claire McCaskill handedly won re-election, defeating Republican Congressman Todd Akin.

Plus, Democrats nearly swept Missouri statewide offices.  The only Democrat to lose was Lieutenant Governor nominee Susan Montee against Republican incumbent Peter Kinder.

Governor Jay Nixon bested Republican nominee Dave Spence.  Jason Kander won over Shane Schoeller for Secretary of State.  Democratic Attorney General Chris Koster secured his re-election by beating Ed Martin.  Democratic Treasurer Clint Zweifel also won re-election by getting more votes than Cole McNary.

In a “St. Louis on the Air” Decision 2012 Post-Election Special from the Community Room of our new studios at UMSL at Grand Center, host Don Marsh talks with a panel of political experts about the election.

Marsh is joined by St. Louis Public Radio’s Maria Altman and Chris McDaniel, who reports for St. Louis Public Radio and Beyond NovemberSt. Louis Beacon political reporter Jo Mannies joined the panel, as did University of Missouri – St. Louis political science professor David Robertson.