Gov. Quinn Asks For Federal Help In Flood Recovery | St. Louis Public Radio

Gov. Quinn Asks For Federal Help In Flood Recovery

May 9, 2013

Reporting by Chris Slaby of WUIS.

Governor Pat Quinn has asked for federal help in the recovery after this spring’s flooding.

Quinn says the application is for 11 counties, mostly located in the northern part of the state.
He says with more than 3,000 homes affected in those counties alone, there’s more than enough evidence for the president to approve his request.

“We want to move forward as quickly as possible across Illinois," Quinn said. "We want to get this started, so we hope he acts affirmatively on our request and helps a lot of families and businesses recover.”

Quinn says 49 counties have been declared state disaster areas because of the flooding. He says damage is still being assessed in the remaining counties. Quinn says applications for aid will be filed for those areas when the assessments are complete.

Affected Counties:

The counties in the federal request are: 

Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry and Will.

Counties declared state disaster areas are:

Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.