St. Louis Public Radio Board installs new officers, welcomes new board members | St. Louis Public Radio

St. Louis Public Radio Board installs new officers, welcomes new board members

Feb 16, 2018

At its first meeting of 2018, St. Louis Public Radio’s Board (The Friends of KWMU, Inc.) installed new officers, welcomed new and returning board members, and thanked the following board members who were rolling off: Linda Honigfort, Charlotte Martin, Chris Sommers, and Harvey Wallace. The meeting was also attended by representatives of Generation Listen, previously known as the Young Friends of KWMU, and station staff.

The Friends of KWMU, Inc. is a separate 501(c)(3) Community Advisory Board whose mission is to provide financial and general support to St. Louis Public Radio by assisting the station to meet agreed upon goals and objectives. Board members assist with fundraising activities, community communications, volunteer projects and other opportunities, and are strong advocates of the station in the community.

Their purpose is to review programming goals established by management, service provided by the station, and significant policy decisions rendered by the station. The board considers and evaluates whether the station’s programming and policies are meeting the specialized educational and cultural needs of the communities served by the station and may make recommendations.

Current board members include:

Executive Committee Members

Diane Katzman (President), Owner, Diane Katzman Designs

Maurice Quiroga (Vice President), Senior Vice President, Wells Fargo Private Bank

Nancy Hawes (Secretary), Shareholder, Polsinelli

Robert Watt (Treasurer), Consultant, Private Equity and Venture Capital Investing

Board Members

Barbara Archer, Managing Director, Hightower Advisors

Brad Bishop, Chief Investment Officer, The Staenberg Group

Thomas Cohn, President, Thomas Cohn Associates

Tim Eby, General Manager, St. Louis Public Radio

Rachel Hirshberg, Attorney, Greensfelder, Hemker & Gale, P.C.

Lawrence Katzenstein, Partner, Thompson Coburn LLP

Carol Swartout Klein, Author and Community Volunteer

Amy Levin, Vice President and Owner, Helix Reality

Linda Locke, Senior Vice President, The Standing Partnership

Harvard Muhm, Shareholder, Capes Sokol

Kimberly Jade Norwood, Professor of Law, Professor of African American Studies, American Studies, Washington University in St. Louis

David Ott, Founding Member, Acropolis Investment Management

Shanti Parikh, Associate Professor, Sociocultural Anthropology and African and African American Studies, Washington University in St. Louis

Kimberly Rayford, Research Scientist, KWS Gateway Research Center

Andrew Schlichter, Attorney, Schlichter Bogard & Denton

Ken Schutte, Retired, The Jones Financial Companies

John Simanowitz, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Integrity: St. Louis Web Development Company

Marcia Sullivan, Vice President for Integrated Marketing and Communications, Maryville University

Richard Weil, Founder, The Beacon

David Wells, Partner, Thompson Coburn LLP

Ellen Ziegler, Senior Success Manager, Ej4

Each board member serves on at least one of five committees tasked with helping the station achieve its strategic plans. Those committees include the Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Development Committee, External Relations and New Business Committee, and Governance Committee. Chief among topics discussed during committee reports was the station’s major fundraising event and annual dinner, Talk Toast Taste, which takes place April 26.

The board’s next meeting is on March 21, 2018. All board meetings are held at UMSL at Grand Center, 3651 Olive Street, St. Louis MO 63108.

Friends of KWMU President Diane Katzman (far left) and St. Louis Public Radio General Manager Tim Eby (far right) are pictured with new board members: Generation Listen Leadership Council Chair Ellen Ziegler, Rachel Hirshberg, Brad Bishop, Amy Levin and Barbara Archer.
Credit David Kovaluk