The founder of the St. Louis Walk of Fame, Joe Edwards, wrote the foreword to the book, as well as many of the early profiles. He started the Walk of Fame, he said, to "draw attention to the great St. Louisans who have affected our culture on a national level."
In our monthly “Soundbites” segment in partnership with Sauce Magazine, host Steve Potter discussed the ongoing growth of the restaurant scene in the Delmar Loop with Joe Edwards, the owner of Blueberry Hill and other Loop landmarks, Ryan Pinkston, co-owner of newcomer Three Kings Public House and Ligaya Figueras, executive editor of Sauce Magazine.
When Edward Gardner Lewis purchased the land that would become University City at the turn of the twentieth century, there wasn't much in the area beyond an amusement park, a race track and the loop of the trolley from which Delmar Loop gets its name. But he had a vision for a magazine empire and needed space to expand his printing presses. He built an iconic octagonal building for his headquarters overlooking the street car line and in view of the site of the upcoming 1904 World's Fair. From there, a bustling street of businesses grew, full of places to eat, shop and have a good time.
Rocco Landesman has received numerous Tony awards as a Broadway producer and recently completed a three year term as Chair of the National Endowment for the Arts. He considered it a great honor to return to his home town for recognition on the St. Louis Walk of Fame.