Metro East Police District

Metro East Police District
6:15 pm
Thu August 16, 2012

Quinn creates new oversight commission for troubled Metro East police departments

Ill. Gov. Pat Quinn (holding paper, center) poses for a photograph with representatives from several Metro East police departments and municipalities on Aug. 16, 2012.
(Rachel Lippmann/St. Louis Public Radio)

Illinois governor Pat Quinn has signed a measure that provides an extra layer of oversight for four troubled police departments in the Metro East.

East St. Louis, Alorton, Washington Park and Brooklyn will still operate as stand-alone departments. But the new Metro East Police District will oversee their funding and set new ethical standards - things Governor Quinn called essential.

Read more