Missouri House members have approved legislation expanding the state's concealed gun laws.
The measure would lower Missouri's minimum age for getting a permit to carry a concealed gun from 23 to 21 years old. It also would allow legislative staff members and statewide elected officials who have permits to carry concealed guns in the Capitol.
Lawmakers who have permits already can bring a concealed weapon to their meetings.
The legislation was approved 117-38 on Thursday. It now goes to the Senate.
Updated 3:29 p.m. March 15, 2011 with information from committee meeting.
A Missouri House committee has opted not to try to increase funding for school busing and the state's A+ scholarship program.
Some lawmakers had distributed amendments Tuesday that would have provided about $35 million of additional money for public school transportation. But the committee did not vote on any of those amendments Tuesday.