© 2022 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Six northwest Mo. counties receive disaster declaration

(via Flickr/USACEpublicaffairs)
Six counties in northwest Missouri have received federal disaster declarations for the flooding that blew the Missouri River out of its banks in June and July.

The federal government has approved the disaster declaration for six counties in northwest Missouri that were pounded by flooding along the Missouri River.

Gov. Jay Nixon announced Friday that eligible residents of Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Holt, Lafayette and Platte counties can seek federal assistance uninsured property that was lost to the flood. Eligible expenses include temporary housing, home repair, and the replacement of household items.  

Gov. Nixon had originally asked for 23 northern counties to get that declaration. The Federal Emergency Management Agency is still reviewing a second request from Gov. Nixon to reimburse county and local governments for their response to the flooding.

The governor has also extended the state's emergency declaration until Sept. 15, which makes state resources including the Missouri National Guard and Missouri State Highway Patrol available to local communities.

Rachel is the justice correspondent at St. Louis Public Radio.

Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.