© 2022 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Mo. gov. seeks disaster status in 23 counties to allow aid to farmers

(Marshall Griffin/St. Louis Public Radio)
Mo. Gov. Jay Nixon.

Updated 1:10 with assistance deadline.

Gov. Jay Nixon is asking federal agriculture officials to declare 23 Missouri counties a disaster area to allow aid for farmers who have lost crops or property.

Nixon requested the disaster declaration Friday. He says the state's farmers have faced heavy rain and flooding since May and that assistance from the U.S. Department of Agriculture Farm Service Agency would help.

The declaration was sought for Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Callaway, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Cole, Cooper, Franklin, Holt, Howard, Jackson, Lafayette, Lewis, Moniteau, Montgomery, Platte, Ray, Saline, St. Louis and Warren counties.

Farmers could receive emergency loans or assistance.

This week is the last chance Missouri residents have to register for disaster assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency.

Missourians who were suffered property damage from the tornadoes or floods between April 19 and June 6 have until Aug. 26 to register. Assistance may include grants for temporary housing, home repair and other disaster-related expenses that aren't covered by other sources.

Aug. 26 is also the deadline for businesses to file loan applications with the Small Business Association.

Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.