© 2022 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

63 Missouri Counties Now Eligible For Drought-Related Aid

droughtboonecountycornFlickrKOMUNewsMalory EnsorJune252012.jpg
(via Flickr/KOMUnews/Malory Ensor)

The ongoing drought  has prompted the United States Department of Agriculture to designate 63 Missouri counties as disaster areas or eligible for disaster assistance.

The designation makes farmers and ranchers in those counties eligible for certain types of aid to help them recover from drought-related losses and damages.

Several counties in the St. Louis Public Radio listening area have been named as "primary disaster areas," including:

  • Lincoln
  • Pike
  • Ralls
  • Warren

Two more counties in the listening area are eligible for assistance, though are not designated as primary disaster areas :

  • Franklin
  • St. Charles

A full list of all of the counties involved in today's announcement can be found here.

Full information about the types of aid available to eligible farmers can be found here.

Follow Kelsey Proud on Twitter: @KelseyProud

Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.