© 2022 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Four Redbirds Win Gold; Pujols Named Best by Peers

Albert Pujols (Reuters file photo)


St. Louis, MO – For the second straight year, four Cardinals have won the Gold Glove Award. That's the honor for best defensive play at each position.

Catcher Mike Matheny, third baseman Scott Rolen, Shortstop Edgar Renteria, and Outfielder Jim Edmonds were awarded Wednesday.

Seattle, in the American League, was the only other team with four gold glovers this year.

Last year, Rolen, Renteria, Edmonds, and second basemen Fernando Vina won the award. Before that, 1963 was the only other time the Cardinals had four Gold Glove winners.

Gold Gloves are voted on by managers and coaches before the end of the regular season. They may not select players on their own teams, and they vote only for players in their own league.

In other awards, slugger Albert Pujols was voted player of the year by his peers in balloting conducted by the Major League Baseball Players Association.

The Players' Choice award gives players themselves a chance to award baseball's best.

Pujols this season led the major leagues in hitting and finished among the leaders in most offensive categories, batting .359 with 43 home runs and 124 RBIs.


Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.