© 2022 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Bush approves federal aid for Missouri counties hit by tornadoes

(UPI photo/Bill Greenblatt)
A resident of Silex, Mo. surveys damage from recent storms.


Washington – President Bush has cleared the way for federal disaster relief in 16 Missouri counties hit by tornadoes and deadly storms over the weekend.

The disaster declaration makes federal funds available for cleanup and repairs from the violent weather that killed nine people across the state. Waves of storms that began late Saturday destroyed hundreds of homes and businesses.

The president's action clears the way for federal aid to rebuild and replace damaged property in nine scattered counties.

Those counties are Christian, Hickory, Johnson, Monroe, Perry, Pettis, Randolph, St. Genevieve and Saline.

Money for cleaning up debris and other emergency measures is also available to government and nonprofit agencies in seven other counties.

Those counties are Bates, Christian, Howard, Jefferson, Monroe, Montgomery and Washington.


Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.