© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

New School Board Members to be Sworn In

Clockwise from top left: Schoemehl, Clinkscale, Jackson, Archibald.

By B. Raack, KWMU

St. Louis, MO – A new majority of the St. Louis School Board will be sworn in tonight.

Four new school board members were elected two weeks ago, all representing a slate formed by Mayor Francis Slay and other civic officials. Slay says Darnetta Clinkscale, Ron Jackson, Bob Archibald and Vince Schoemehl will work together but can vote independently.

They're going to be running the school district, not me, I want to make that very clear," Slay said. "But, you know, what I'm going to do as mayor of the city of St. Louis is make sure that I can assist them in any way I can with the resources of my office.

Some of the first issues to face the new board are -- hiring a new superintendent, negotiating a contract with the teachers union and gaining accreditation from the state.


Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.