© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Holden Asks to Add 18 Counties to Disaster Declaration


Jefferson City, MO – Governor Holden has asked President Bush to add 18 Missouri counties to a federal disaster declaration because of severe weather last weekend.

Holden wants Howard and Lewis counties to be added for both individual and public assistance. Cole and Pike counties be added for individual assistance only.

He also asked that the 14 counties bordering those four counties be added for individual assistance. Those counties are Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Chariton, Clark, Knox, Lincoln, Marion, Moniteau, Montgomery, Osage, Ralls, Randolph and Shelby.

President Bush already has approved disaster declarations for 50 Missouri counties. That opens the way for housing and repair grants for displaced residents and assistance for damaged businesses.


Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.