© 2022 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Burke gives new names to consolidated parishes, schools

St. Louis archdiocese offices, on Lindell Blvd.


St. Louis, MO – Some St. Louis area Catholics found out this weekend the name of their church or school will change with the upcoming consolidation in the archdiocese.

The changes will take effect July 1 are:

* - The new school that will include students from Our Lady of Sorrows and St. Mary Magdalen will be called St. Katherine Drexel School. The new school will be at the current Our Lady of Sorrows.

* - The Spanish Lake area in north County will be served by a parish called Our Lady of the Rosary.

It will include the current Corpus Christi, Our Lady of Good Counsel, St. Catherine of Alexandria, St. Jerome, St. Pius X, and part of St. Christopher parishes.

* - The new Blessed Teresa of Calcutta parish will include Ferguson, Hazelwood, Berkeley, Dellwood, Calverton Park, and Kinloch.

It will be comprised of the current Good Shepard, St. Barthowlomew, St. Sebastian, Sts. John and James, and parts of Our Lady of Fatima and North American Martyrs parishes.

The church for the new Blessed Teresa of Calcutta will be the present Good Shepard Church.

* - A new parish in Florissant will be called St. Rose Philippine Duchesne. It will include the St. Dismas, St. Thomas the Apostle and part of Our Lady of Fatima parishes, and will meet at the current St. Dismas church. The school for the new parish will be at the current St. Thomas the Apostle School.

* - A new inter-parish elementary school in north St. Louis County will be called Christ, Light of the Nations School.

Students who end up in the new Our Lady of the Holy Rosary and Holy Name of Jesus parishes will go to Christ, Light of the Nations School.

The new school will be at the site of the current St. John Neumann School, in Spanish Lake.

Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.