© 2022 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Four St. Louis schools will close, down from eight

By Adam Allington, KWMU

St. Louis, MO. – The superintendent of St. Louis Public Schools says the district only will close four schools instead of eight.

In a list created last January, district administrators said they were considering a consolidation plan that would close eight schools.

Now, Superintendent Diana Bourisaw says they have amended their plan based on community feedback.

"The community can be pleased that they were listened to and heard," Bourisaw said. "We certainly need to look and continue to look at school consolidations. Our goal is for the community to get involved in these low-enrollment schools and help boost the enrollment."

Mitchell, Gundlach, Wilkinson and Lyons schools are still slated for closure.

Bourisaw will make a recommendation to the Special Administrative Board that students at those schools be relocated next school year.

Students at Mitchell will move to Hamilton and Ford. Gundlach pupils will shift to Ford, Lexington and Laclede. Wilkinson ECC students will move to Roe, and those from Lyons will relocate to Blow.


Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.