Nixon asks Obama for disaster declaration | St. Louis Public Radio

Nixon asks Obama for disaster declaration

Jul 26, 2011

Mo. Gov. Jay Nixon is asking President Barack Obama to issue a major disaster declaration for 23 northern counties hit by severe storms and flooding along the Missouri River. He announced the request Monday.

The disaster request would cover events since June 1. If approved, it would allow government aid to flow to families and public agencies that have suffered losses. The counties included in the request are:

  • Adair
  • Andrew
  • Atchison
  • Buchanan
  • Carroll
  • Chariton
  • Clark
  • Holt
  • Howard
  • Knox
  • Lafayette
  • Lewis
  • Linn
  • Macon
  • Marion
  • Monroe
  • Platte
  • Ralls
  • Ray
  • St. Charles
  • Saline
  • Shelby
  • Sullivan

Parts of Missouri already are under a federal disaster declaration for tornadoes and flooding that occurred this spring.