Which Of These Police Officers Will Be St. Louis' Next Chief?

Nov 9, 2012

Following the announcement last month that St. Louis Police Chief Dan Isom would resign to take a job at the University of Missouri - St. Louis, the names of those vying to take his place were announced today by the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department.

Here they are (listed with last name first, followed by rank, and in alphabetical order):

1. Caruso, Michael (Capt.)

2. Dotson, D. Samuel (Capt.)

3. Edwards-Fears, Mary (Capt.)

4. Harris, Reggie (Lt. Col.)

5. Jones, Rochelle (Capt.)

6. Kuntz, Edward (Capt.)

7. Nocchiero, Paul (Lt. Col.)

8. O’Toole, Lawrence, Sr. (Lt. Col.)

9. Reagan, Timothy (Lt. Col.)

10. Robinson, Ronnie (Capt.)

11. Spicer, Gwen (Capt.)

12. Spiess, Joseph (Capt.)

Following the approval of Proposition A just this week, which gives local control of the police department back to the city after over 150 years of state control, the new chief will be the first in over a century to operate under a new system of leadership. In the current system, the chief of police reports to a Board of Police Commissioners.

Isom officially retires from his post as chief on Jan. 1, 2013.

Follow Kelsey Proud on Twitter: @KelseyProud