© 2022 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

8 Mo. law officers awarded Medal of Valor

(via Flickr/Missouri Department of Public Safety)
Mo. Gov. Jay Nixon presents the Medal of Valor to Joseph R. Haman of the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department.

Eight law enforcement officers have received Medal of Valor awards from Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon for acts of heroism - among them are officers from the St. Louis region.

Nixon presented the medals Wednesday during a ceremony at the state Capitol. The annual awards are based on the recommendation of a special review board.

The medal recipients for actions that occurred in 2010 are:

  • Mathew Crosby and Jorden Lewis of the Rock Hill Police Department;
  • Donald Doza of the Missouri State Highway Patrol;
  • Joseph Haman of the St. Louis Police Department;
  • Steven Landsness of the O'Fallon Police Department;
  • Darren Rodgers of the Arnold Police Department;
  • Gerald Williams of the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office; and
  • Kenneth Smith Jr. of the St. Joseph Police Department.

For more photos of today's ceremony, here's a Flickr album put together by the Mo. Dept. of Public Safety:

Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.