© 2023 St. Louis Public Radio
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

FEMA denies disaster declaration in Mo.

(via Missouri Department of Transportation)
A view of downtown Branson, Mo. after a tornado swept through the area on Feb. 29, 2012.

Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon says he's disappointed that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has denied a request to provide disaster aid to residents in 18 southern and northern Missouri counties recently hit by violent weather.

Nixon said Monday that the state will continue to provide aid to communities, even though residents whose homes were damaged won't be eligible for federal grants. FEMA also denied an aid request from Illinois.

Three Missouri residents died and numerous others suffered damage to their homes and businesses from the late February storms that included tornadoes, hail, high winds and heavy rain.

Nixon had requested a major disaster declaration for the following counties:

  • Adair
  • Barry
  • Barton
  • Bollinger
  • Cape Girardeau
  • Cedar
  • Dallas
  • Daviess
  • Laclede
  • Linn
  • Madison
  • Phelps
  • Polk
  • Pulaski
  • Scott
  • Stoddard
  • Stone
  • Taney


Send questions and comments about this story to feedback@stlpublicradio.org.