St. Louis Districts Renew Student Transfer Program | St. Louis Public Radio

St. Louis Districts Renew Student Transfer Program

Oct 19, 2012

Suburban St. Louis districts will continue to accept black students who transfer from the St. Louis city district through a program that grew out of a desegregation case.

Leaders from 15 districts voted Friday to extend the voluntary program through the 2018-19 school year, according to the St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Students who start in the program can finish in the program.

This year marks the 40th anniversary of the desegregation case that ultimately created the transfer program. More than 5,200 students have participated to date. The transfer program previously was extended through the 2013-14 school year. Without the extension votes, the student transfers would be phased out.

Districts participating in the program include Affton, Bayless, Brentwood, Clayton, Lindbergh, Hancock Place, Kirkwood, Mehlville, Pattonville, Parkway, Rockwood, Valley Park and Webster Groves.